Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Live longer....with alcohol ?

Live longer....with alcohol ?

Heard on the news just this morning that now the studies say.....that the key to longer life may well be moderate amounts of alcohol & caffeine .

Web-Md is also now saying that being overweight [not obese] in our 70's may be the key to longer life as well.

What to believe???? I wish the hell they would make up their minds.

I used to freely partake of it but hardly use it anymore. But I do have a mug of coffee every morning.
    John

Stuck inside of Mobile, with the Memphis Blues again.
    "Some velvet morning when I'm straight"

Quote Originally Posted by Trade View Post

LOL...it's an acquired taste I suppose....and living in the jungle with a chimp....he's not likely to acquire it.

Uh huh!

I have pretty much stopped drinking since I started taking insulin, not a safe combination.

I wish that the experts would get busy and find a reason why smoking cigarettes would be good for me!

I enjoy a Millers High Life beer with lunch and a cocktail every late afternoon.
    We are either growing or dying.

Quote Originally Posted by rgp View Post
    Heard on the news just this morning that now the studies say.....that the key to longer life may well be moderate amounts of alcohol & caffeine.
    Alcohol..in moderation..does have some benefits. The French, for example, have a very low rate of heart disease, and most studies have shown that this is a benefit of having a glass of red wine with their evening meal. A couple of cups of coffee throughout the day also seems to have a positive effect. The problems occur when a person sits around drinking several beers a day, and allows their belly to grow accordingly. Almost every senior will put on some pounds as they grow older, but if they can keep the weight down to just a few percentage points above ideal, it doesn't seem to harm.