Airports

oldman

I hate airports. I flew from Washington, D.C. to San Diego just to fly with a rookie Captain that I started training just before I retired. He did a very good job of keeping us in smooth air. The trip home was very quick due to a strong tailwind.

The plane ride was fine. It was the airports that were the problem. I knew that people are at their rudest in airports, but for whatever reason, this trip, I think every person in the airport was rude. I was standing in line waiting to pay for my newspaper and Coke when the young fellow in front of me, who was wearing a backpack and I guess it was his girlfriend he yelled to, who was standing by the magazine rack. He quickly turned around to yell at his girlfriend and it was then that his backpack knocked my Coke out of my hand and it went flying and hit a rack of keychains.

At first, he didn’t say anything. He just stood there and looked at me and started to walk away. I’m 6’4” so I told him he owed me a Coke. He just kept walking and unfortunately for him, an airport cop just happened to be walking by. I told the cop what happened and he went over and spoke with the cashier who verified my story. The cop went after him, caught up to him and cuffed him. I didn’t know why. I later learned that the newsstand wanted paid for the keychains he messed up. They ended up charging him. I really just wanted paid for my Coke.

For three bucks he could have saved himself a lot of trouble and money.

You're 6' 4"? Wow! You're a retired airline pilot? Wow!