Any musicians on the forum?

I play guitar and piano. There is a broad range of styles in the area of guitar. My interests tend toward acoustic fingerstyle i a style known as "chord melody". On piano that would be called "cocktail piano". I have never really understood why the difference in terms other than the word "piano". I have never been inclined to sing and never developed much taste for electric guitar, especially when cranked up and distorted. Anyway, that is my take in a nutshell.

55 years is a long to be doing something. You must be really, really good by now. :cool:

Tony

I'm not really a musician but for the last 15 years I have been chording my Epiphone left handed guitar and singing. I do 4 songs twice over each morning from a collection of just over 1,070 songs. Love to sing those old songs, mostly but not only country songs. Apparently, playing and singing is really great for keeping me away from dementia and Alzheimer's. So far so good! Touch wood!

Music is a GREAT pastime, especially in retirement. I have read on a number of occasions that learning something new, especially a new language, chess, various puzzle solving ideas, and learning/playing a musical instrument are supposed to help stave off dementia or at least aid in the use of one's aging mind.

Also, the hobby can be as inexpensive (or expensive) as you want it to be. Beyond the initial purchase of the instrument, it is your choice as to whether to teach yourself or take lessons, buy music to learn, etc.

Unlike physical sports (though playing an instrument is considered a physical activity to a lesser extent), you can continue for as long as your body continues to function well enough. Segovia played concerts well into his 90s.

Tony

I started playing guitar back when I was in High School. I'd practice at my house then go out on weekends and jam with other local musicians. Then later I started playing in bands and doing gigs. Just local stuff, nothing fancy but I was having a ball.