Anyone Let Their Hair Go Grey And Then Dyed It Back?

I stopped colouring and highlighting my hair after I retired. I don't mind the grey colour but because my hair is very fine I will need to be brave and cut it short for summer months. I am so sick of it flying into my face when it is windy out and because I usually wear a hat when I am outside; it looks even worst when I take the hat off. Sigh...
I have been wearing a 2 inch haircut for 10 years. Its fun! No hat hair either.

Someone mentioned "purple shampoo" and I wanted to comment on that and tell you my experience with it. When I was letting my natural hair color return, I tried the purple shampoo hoping it would brighten what grey I had and cover some of the faded old colored hair that was looking kind of funky. It turned my hair a muddy color instead of brightening the grey. I think it was because my hair was always so "porous" and took color easily that it just made it more muddy and purple-ish looking. I never used it again.

Someone mentioned "purple shampoo" and I wanted to comment on that and tell you my experience with it. When I was letting my natural hair color return, I tried the purple shampoo hoping it would brighten what grey I had and cover some of the faded old colored hair that was looking kind of funky. It turned my hair a muddy color instead of brightening the grey. I think it was because my hair was always so "porous" and took color easily that it just made it more muddy and purple-ish looking. I never used it again.
I've noticed a similar phenomenon with the medium brown hair, demi-perm hair color I use in that it turns nearly black on the lower parts of my hair. I've heard that everyone's hair "pulls" color differently.