Did you take one of those "career" test, which was supposed to tell you what career you were best suited for? Did it work?

On a good day, I was a B student. I took one of those career tests, which were supposed to tell you what career to follow. The results came back that I should be a DJ or radio announcer. My career was supposedly in the entertainment "talking" field. So, of course, I became a psychiatric nurse- which, to be honest, is not so far off the mark. Yet, it is strange that I thought about being a DJ way before I took the test. Another thing is, I love stand up comedy. I love telling jokes. I'm not bragging, but I'm good with a come back. Now whether or not I could have made a living at comedy or DJing, I'll never know. Did you take one of those "career" test, which was supposed to tell you what career you were best suited for? Did it work?

I did, many years ago. I got 3 suggestions but I only remember 2; detective and fashion designer. I actually did a favor for a state police detective friend by getting some information, but no, I never went into either field.

I never took a "Career Test." I never even heard of one. I doubt it would have changed my line of work, anyway.
Nothing bored me more than school.

I took a big battery of tests when I wrapped up my 31 years in the Navy. The objective was to help steer us into successful second careers. Following the tests, we all had one-on-one counselling with an advisor who told me:

- That I was a happy individual and that about 25 % of the people in the program were basically unhappy.
- That I had been well suited for my career in the Navy, and as an Engineer. I had fallen into that line of work when I was 17.
- That the optimal work setting for me would be a small high tech company situated in the middle of a national forest. (Good luck with that)
- That I would never rise to a CEO position because I was "not angry enough."
- That I could make it to upper middle management (which I did).