Exercise for folks with leg issues?

HillbillyJane

Okay, just a newbie here, but I'd like advice from people who have struggled with leg issues. Mine is basically difficulty in climbing anything: stairs, over curbs, etc. I'm fine on level ground, but anything where I have to lift up a leg is difficult, and kind of embarrassing. Pretty sure being out of shape is a good basic reason, and yes, I've been to the doctor's, and they said it's just arthritis. Well, here I am, 55 years old, and seeing people much heavier than me, older than me, and they can climb a lot better than I can. I look like a frail elderly lady going up stairs.

And there is pain, like dull hip, knee, and foot pain. So lightweight stuff is needed, no lunges or anything too tough. I also have terrible balance.

What gives??? And what is the best beginner leg toning excercises? Please don't say "stepper or elliptical". :LOL: Those are guaranteed failures to launch.

hi hillybilly jane
if it were me, i would talk to my doctor about this issue. getting advice from people who are not doctors or fitness instructors could be dangerous.

Arthritis can be annoying and also painful, as I can attest to both. I have Osteoarthritis, back, hips, knees.
I walk as I can, and when I can, and aim to always stay active if even on a low level, I also still work part time
at my job. Walking for me is what I chose overall, not always comfortable but I have to press on.

I have had Rheumatoid Arthritis for eons now with spinal stenosis and hip displacement, so I know how hard it is to climb stairs or even step up on a curb. Twice, I fractured my ankles by not hitting the curb flush on. But, I do at my advanced age persevere and still climb these things in order to remain mobile.

Possibly water movements if you can have any access to that....
or start with very small goals...range of motion, very very gentle,

but I agree with above post, that you would need guidance from a physical therapist, or other professional.