Fixing a hole in microwave

retiredtraveler

I took the microwave (tabletop) out to the garage this morning to sand down the rust spots and was going to repaint (I have OEM microwave paint). Well I kept scraping and scraping until a hole opened up. If I had paid attention a few years ago, I could have stopped this.
Anyway, does anyone know if I can use some type of epoxy to fill the hole? I've been all over the net. Most articles tell you, replace it. A few people have mentioned two-part epoxy, but I don't know if there is a downside to it.
Anyone familiar with this? A new one is $150 or so (this is a 1.4 cf model) and I try to fix whatever I can myself. But, I have no experience with this.

The metal box plus the mesh in the window form what is known as a Faraday Cage which prevents microwaves from escaping the unit. If you plug the hole with a non metallic epoxy, the rf may pass through your patch and could be harmful. The actual effect of a hole in a Farady Cage depends upon the frequency of the microwave and the size of the hole. If you look through the window of your microwave oven you will see a woven wire mesh. The spaces between the intersecting wires of the mesh are the hole size the mfg has determined form an adequate barrier to the units energy.

Frankly, I would scrap the oven. If you have that much rust damage in one spot it is likely there is more damage currently covered by paint.

Funny, I've never owned a microwave. When I was married (37 years ago) my wife was very excited about getting one but I never liked how some foods tasted when they came out - especially baked potatoes, which were gummy.

Don't be penny wise and pound foolish!

2455848-B.jpg

It's time for a new microwave.

I took the microwave (tabletop) out to the garage this morning to sand down the rust spots and was going to repaint (I have OEM microwave paint). Well I kept scraping and scraping until a hole opened up. If I had paid attention a few years ago, I could have stopped this.