free miliary cemetery burial

tomfaria

I am a US Vietnam vet; 2 year draftee. Am I eligible for a free planting at a military cemetery? What are the requirements? Is there an online application? Thank you.

As another Vietnam vet, I can tell you that as both Old Medic and I have said, your local VA is really quite helpful. Pappy's advice to google the VA is good too, but when you can get a local VA representative to help, you can get it done more efficiently and also more correctly for your local situation.

If you have either not been in contact with the VA prior to this or had a bad experience in the past, I can tell you that things have really changed. Also, with the exception of one guy in these forums, attitudes toward us Vietnam vets has changed a lot in the intervening years.

Tony

I had discussed this possibility with my husband who was a vet. At the time I researched it, looked like he would have been entitled to free burial. But he had made other arrangements so I didn't need to use that service. I believe they just need to see your discharge papers and know that you did not receive a dishonorable discharge.

My dad, career Naval aviator, was cremated and his ashes scattered from the air over Monterey Bay. Of course it was his wish and I obviously honor that. But, I often would like to actually sit by his grave and talk to him. The many years I spent in, on and under the waves out there just had to suffice.

I had discussed this possibility with my husband who was a vet. At the time I researched it, looked like he would have been entitled to free burial. But he had made other arrangements so I didn't need to use that service. I believe they just need to see your discharge papers and know that you did not receive a dishonorable discharge.