How much does a book title influence you when you are considering buying it?

Phoenix

As an author selecting the best title for a book is difficult for me. Today I was talking to a lady at my drug insurance company. After a fun conversation I mentioned I was a writer and told her about a book I'd written and the title. She said she'd buy a book with that title, not even knowing anything about it. Now, she could have been just being nice, but it did set me to thinking again about my long time problem, how to select a title that catches the eye. With so many books out there now that anyone anywhere can publish a book about anything, it's even more important. Even if you get a large publishing house to publish it, they rarely provide any publicity. Only the big names or ain't it awful stories get a publishing budget. For the most part the author has to do all the work her/himself.

One of the things I did was try different names on a book, one at a time of course, and then offer it for free under each subesquent title. Some title didn't have any takers and some had quite a bunch. So I'd keep the effective title. But that can get cumbersome to implement.

In the next few months my latest book will be uploaded. I have a title I like, but I have no idea if it is a good one, since as an author, my mind thinks differently than a lot of others.

How would you suggest I go about selecting titles?

For example if a book is titled Dear Henry...I'm not even gonna bother with it because it already tells me it's nothing I'll be interested in.

However, I recently got a book called The Witness. It's a good book so far. Same two words but it tells me something juicy awaits.

You have to pick something that will mean something to you and yet something that will tempt your readers to pick it up and see what it is.

The book title is what draws me to a book first, then the description. The description has to hold my interest and make me want to read more therefore purchasing the book.