I just found this forum...

Sallyb1956

I am new to South Carolina, I moved from Michigan to be closer to my two young grandsons. That was in March, now I am wondering if I made the right move.

The thing is, I have involved myself into some local groups, but there doesn't seem to be any connections. The culture is so different here, and my sarcastic sense of humor here does not work. I used to develop friendships at work, so now I am looking for some part time work to socialize and to earn some much needed cash. I am just plain lonely!

Hi Sally

Welcome101a.jpg
Welcome from London England

Hi my name is Sam, I live in Lincoln Lincolnshire - UK, I took early retirement from my day job and just carried on my private business on a part-time basis, so can enjoy my hobbies and stay busy. I have a wide scope of hobbies to mention a few: serious photography, gardening, cooking the list is long .. but my peaceful time is when I am listening to my music.

The thing is, I have involved myself into some local groups, but there doesn't seem to be any connections. The culture is so different here, and my sarcastic sense of humor here does not work. I used to develop friendships at work, so now I am looking for some part time work to socialize and to earn some much needed cash. I am just plain lonely!
Hi Sally
Welcome from Lincoln UK welcome 1.jpeg

It takes time to fit in. just be yourself and reach out to others. You say your lonely but what about your grandsons and your children. That's certainly fulfilling, in and of itself, if you're taking them on outings, exploring, reading to them, teaching them to cook for themselves, spending time listening, etc

Welcome to SF, come on in, the water's fine 😂
8099efbe55475ab93639c366c386ee92.gif

Last edited: