Leasing a car!

Citygirl

SF VIP
If anyone happens to know information on leasing a car, I sure would appreciate any info you can relay. This will be a totally new experience so we know nothing.Thank You!

I've been leasing since 1996. It's a very cheap way to drive a new car every 3 years, with a very small down payment & small monthly payments & never have any major repairs. Sometimes I've terminated the lease early at no cost & dealers always want a near-new car on their lot.
You may hear some people say, "But you never own the car." Neither does any buyer until he pays the car off & has the title. That usually takes 3-5 years & lots of interest.

I'm currently driving a 2019 Nissan Altima SL that I got in 2018. The sticker price is $31,000. I put $2,000 down, Nissan added $1,000 for an incentive & my payment is $350.00/month. After 3 years, I turn in the car & get a new one - same deal. And it doesn't have to be a Nissan; any dealer will take the car in trade.

My current car is a lease, as it is what my husband wanted to do. Our last few cars were leases.
This current lease comes to term next June. While I plan to stay with the dealer, as I like them and their service dept. When I turn in this car, my next will be a purchase. I am tired of leasing. And I know I will get good service from the dealer. I like the fact that they do not treat me as a female customer who knows nothing.

Leasing probably has some positive aspects....especially for someone who drives quite a bit. However, I doubt that there is Any money savings by leasing, vs. purchasing...probably costs more, over time, to lease. At the rate most cars depreciate in value, about the only way a person gets good value out of a car is to pay cash at the time of purchase, then keep it until it begins to fall apart.