Market Volatility

mikermeals

Stay the course!

I put more money to work on Friday…another scary day. Here is a good message from the CEO of Vanguard. I highly recommend Vanguard as they have many options and site is very easy to navigate. I have been using since the 1980’s.

Hi, I’m Tim Buckley, Vanguard’s CEO.

These are challenging times as the world prepares for, and responds to, the coronavirus outbreak.

Like you, we’ve watched the rising numbers of those infected by the virus with concern and wish a swift and full recovery for those who are ill. We applaud the worldwide efforts to prevent further infections and tragic deaths.

There is still much we don’t know about this epidemic. The health risk is real and the short-term business impact has been significant. The economic consequences, however, are unlikely to be long term. We’re seeing the markets plummet one day and bounce back the next, as investors process that uncertainty.
At Vanguard, we’re known for counseling investors to “stay the course” in good times and bad, which means keeping a long-term perspective and focusing on the parts of investing you can control, such as diversification, balance, and cost.

Now “stay the course” is an easy commitment when markets are calm and steadily moving upward, as they have for more than a decade.
It’s much harder to stay disciplined in today’s environment as markets fluctuate and the near-term future is uncertain. We preach diversification so you can weather these tough times and stay invested.

In my 30 years in the business, I’ve seen many market storms. Re-pricings are inevitable, sometimes violent, but never predictable. Panic and rash action aren’t your ally. Those who cash out find it impossible to know when to get back in. Indeed, investors that deviate from their long-term plans typically regret it later.
The coronavirus epidemic itself was not something we could predict, but we constantly prepare for unexpected bouts of volatility.