Newby needs to lose pounds and feel stronger

Kate48

Hi, I'm a healthy 71 yrs., married and looking to lose pounds with a few others here who are like minded. I am a very positive person who has graduated from the school of hard knocks with a masters. Looking forward to getting on with life after cancer surgery. My future looks great! I love the outdoors, I'm an artist in my spare time, love animals, cooking, traveling with my husband and watching sunrises and sunsets whenever I can! I'm pretty straight forward and respect honesty and hard work.

Last edited:
You are an inspiration. Great outlook you have!

I'm looking to lose some too. I have to cut those calories. I can do that but need to start getting more walks and some exercise. It seems it's necessary to lose the amount I have to lose. Best wishes to you on the losing weight.

You are an inspiration. Great outlook you have!

I'm looking to lose some too. I have to cut those calories. I can do that but need to start getting more walks and some exercise. It seems it's necessary to lose the amount I have to lose. Best wishes to you on the losing weight.
Thanks! I have some exercise equipment downstairs which I have made a commitment to use and am keeping a journal. I need to drop 40 pounds, mostly where I sit.

I was going to ask if you want to lose with calories or exercise and you answered my question with the exercise equipment. The best way, of course, is a combination of both. Unfortunately, I'm too lazy to exercise, so I've been losing weight with the ''time restricted'' diet. I only eat within a two hour period (5-7pm) and fast the rest of the time. Most people can't do it, but I rather do that than exercise or have to count calories. You have to choose your demons.

If your weight is on your butt, the best exercise is squats and lunges.

I walk every day.
Drink water - there is no calories in water.
Eat more veggies and fruit.
I use an app on my iphone that counts my calories every day.