Reframing attention seeking behaviors

Ronni

The motormouth ;)
D6B9E381-AE3D-4839-A8D3-7097E1555E76.jpeg
I’ve been doing a bit of research on this because one of my teen granddaughters is acting out. Also because I’m somewhat of a Student of Human Nature, when I’ve see anyone acting in a way that seems to be looking for attention, it’s been a curiously to me. So I’ve done a bit of reading

"Attention seeking" can be a need for things other than attention, like connection or attachment as the chart indicates. Also apparently the need for attention can become more confronting, confusing or chaotic to match the underlying need and emotion. I’ve observed this is my grand.

I’m still learning about this...anyone have any insight?

I would talk to her about it, and let her know that you’re there for her, the teenage years are so tough I remember my teenage years as that’s when it all went downhill for me for about 7 years it’s a very critical make or break time, I would spend as much time with her as you possibly can wishing you all the best!

Ok! I’m going to play devils advocate here on this one.

The way you have started your opening post implies that any attention seeking behaviour is negative and I whole heartedly disagree.

The number one need after survival basics, like food and shelter, is to connect with others. We all do that in our own unique way, on our own time table.

Are musicians who sing or play instruments for an audience attention seekers and if so, should they seek counsel?

What about all the poets and actors in the theatres, cinemas and movies we watch and enjoy? Are these people attention seekers and do they need counselling?

We all connect with others in our own unique way. We are all looking to be heard and understood by others. Some people are just more polished with their attention seeking than others but who are we to judge?