US Navy -- An Education In Itself

ElCastor

I graduated from college less than a year before Vietnam. Eligible for the draft -- better the Navy than sleeping in a ditch, so off to a recruiting office, then Newport and OCS. Join the Navy and see the world. As an ensign I found myself, a junior Snipe, on a carrier bound for the South China Sea. R Division junior officer and eventually M Division and Main Engines Officer. My 3 year commitment was drawing to a close and I'm offered 2 years shore duty anywhere I choose, so it's off to Rota Spain -- two of the most interesting and rewarding years of my life. From Norway to Morocco, UK to Turkey, and pretty much everywhere
between. As a reserve officer I was offered a regular commission, but turned it down. Time to settle down and get to know some girls who spoke English.

They were not kidding when they said it was not just a job but "an adventure". I loved Spain myself, thought they had the best looking girls. ;)