Anyone ever managed to get a midlevel government job?

WinAZ

I’ve applied for at least 10 jobs via the USAJOBS official website. All of the positions said “open to the public.” Every one got me a reply that said:

“There are other applicants who, by law, must be considered before your application, such as displaced federal employees, certain Veterans, and others entitled to special consideration. Therefore, your application will not be considered at this time.”

Even though I’m a veteran, have the required degree and possess tons of experience, I get bumped every time.

Has anyone managed to get a midlevel government job without working your way up from the bottom?

Am I just wasting my time applying?

My husband (also a Vet) sent a HUGE packet of papers required by the FBI for a job in the 1990s. They "LOST" them twice. They require SO much information make sure you save copies of everything you send, because you'll need it again! Our son also sent reams of paper to openings on USAJobs - neither one ever got so much as an interview.

My niece, however had an amazing figure, sweet face and a talent for sounding like she really knew what she was doing. She got hired immediately as a secretary/admin asst. She did her homework and was rehearsed and ready for her phone interview. It still comes down to WHO YOU KNOW and I'm sure she knew several people already in government. They lived just outside an army base. Niece has since, managed to finish her BS degree online and has moved up in the local Dept. of Homeland Security - because she IS smart and capable. But, a lot of other people are too.

Husband ultimately ended up working for TVA (as an ex-navy NUC ) - a government owned corporation - and we retired from there with some good benefits and support. FIND someone who already has a government job and make a connection, ask questions, get interview questions and ask them for a referral - once you have applied for a specific opening. GOOD LUCK!