Davey Do's Art News

Davey Do

When I was a practicing nurse, I was a nurse 24 hours a day, whether I was at work or not. Nursing was my calling. My favorite website catered to nurses. The majority of my art centered around being a nurse.

The majority of my time off work was spent pursuing endeavors in art. Now that I have been retired for nearly a year and a half, I no longer feel like I am a nurse and I will spend up to 14 hours a day in my art room. I feel like an artist.

I noted that the majority of my my artistic expressions now centers around being retired and my art which I have world and time upon which to focus. Every day brings a new discovery in art, whether that be as a product or a process, which is really big news.

To me.

So I have decided to publish my Davey Do's News which have to do with art in this thread.

As artists, we often go through phases. A year ago, I was in a sculpting phase which included metal, wood, and clay. Currently, I am in a colored ink phase, working with various weights of paper and other media which will hold ink.

Like toilet tissue.

TTP.jpg

That was so much fun, I ink an image on a paper towel, cut it out, and glued it to a journal page.

BJ.jpg

I have also recently discovered alcohol pens which have brush tips, or chisel and bucket tips. They too are fun with which to play.

LHB.jpg

I believe that is it, for now, but I will be back!

In the nearly year and a half that I've been retired, I've left my quaint home in the country for one of three reasons: Business, bike rides, or Belinda making me go somewhere with her.

This morning I had a hankering to walk around the old downtown of the largest town near me.

Very few were out and practically no place was open on this Labor Day Sunday morning. I ate a sandwich at Subway, looked through an antique shop, and visited the shop of some old artist friends.