Had to LIE

Patnono

A week ago I started training as a caregiver, the video showed that we would do things in twos with moving the residents. I started the physical training yesterday, well found out the TWO thing wasn't TRUE. I'll be 65 soon I would not be able to do this job. I couldn't move anyone, afraid I would Hurt them or myself? I couldn't keep up at All. I felt they misrepresented the way things are? As other employees told me. Half are quitting. I feel I have to lie to my kids because they Never cut me any slack that I make excuses that I don't want to Work, it's not True. They don't realize how hard bring a caregiver is. I'm I wrong?

No, you are right. It's very hard being a caregiver. Your kids should pitch in, IMO, and help you in your retirement if you need them too. You are 65. For many, that is past the age of work. If you quit, I would report this residence to your local and state governments, as they are putting their patients at risk with inadequate care.

Caregiving is wunna the most abused professions
There’s always openings due to that

Assisted living places (nursing homes) have been horrible pits for many decades
Always short handed

There’s been marked improvements over the last few years, but not enough

You made the right choice in not working there

No need to lie

You MUST report them

At almost 65 your "kids" should be on their own supporting themselves. What kind of "kids" do you have that make you feel you need to lie about not wanting to work where you think the job is more than you can handle or physically hurt yourself?

Like the others are posting, reporting the facility would be the right thing to do.

Didn't you post another time you were going to work a retail sales job?

That's why it was easy to get the job. Hard for them to find workers.
Caregiving is probably not for you--try something less physical and less demanding.