Hello. First post from J.B. Books

J.B Books

I'll be 65 in a few weeks. Been contemplating retirement for a while. I'll be on Medicare next month and hopefully that will last a few more years.
I am an independent contractor of sorts for the past 11 years. I got out of the corporate world and started doing this. Got tired of the politics, travel, etc. I don't want to get into a core dump on my first post so I will keep my past history short.

My wife and I had our own technology company. We later partnered with a larger wealthy company owned by one man. Long story short, on the verge of a huge contract roll out with some very large companies that you would all recognize, he decided to take over the whole operation and cut us out. We spent 7 years in court. Nobody won (except the lawyers) all the software and patents became frozen and later obsolete because of such legal action.

Most of our retirement was invested in this and we lost a lot. That's when I became an independent. I had to rebuild my retirement and my wife now runs a 501C3. So my retirement looks a lot different now than I would of guessed 15 years ago. Still I am getting tired. I want to do things before I fall apart. How many years do I have left to move around? I've crunched the numbers and we should be OK financially. So I want to wind down this year and "semi-retire" before I fully retire.

Covid has made my business activity very difficult so the writing is on the wall for me. I think I would want to still have something to do until I get this full retirement thing in focus. I am afraid of having a lot of time with no direction and on the other hand I don't want the stress anymore. That's my internal conflict and fear I guess. I always told myself I would go fishing a lot in retirement. My hands are so bad now I don't think I can tie a knot in the fishing line without a lot of effort. So there you have it.