How do I stop this Push Notifcations question each time I log on?

AprilSun

Senior Member
Location
USA
I have gone to my account and set my preferences to disable, clicked on save and clicked on Never ask again, but when I log off and I clean up my temporary files, it is back again. I don't want a lot of temp. files on my computer. What am I doing wrong?
 

AprilSun

Senior Member
Location
USA
Original Poster
I fixed it myself. I logged off and cleaned my temp files so it would pop up again, then I logged back on, and there it was. I right clicked it and blocked it with one of my Chrome extensions and it worked.
 

Aunt Marg

Granny Pantie Power!
April

Clock on your username and then click on Preferences.

Scroll down to where Push Notifications start, and tell me what your settings are.
 

AprilSun

Senior Member
Location
USA
Original Poster
April

Clock on your username and then click on Preferences.

Scroll down to where Push Notifications start, and tell me what your settings are.
It says "Enable Push Notifications" and then the box next to the "Receive push notification when a new conversation message is received" is clear. If I "enable" it, that will be what I don't want. Plus, everything that we have a choice to either Alert or use Push, I have Alert selected. So far, the blocking I did is working so that's better than nothing. But, if you have a better fix, I'll do it. Thanks!
 

SeaBreeze

Endlessly Groovin'
Location
USA
A long time ago I clicked Enable just to check it out, after around a day I knew I didn't need something like that, so I went into my Preferences, like Aunt Marg said and disabled it. It has been disabled since, I'd have to click on that big blue button in my Preferences to enable it again. You always need to click Save when you make any changes in your preferences. Here's a quote from an old thread that I replied to.

The "Push" notifications pushes a little notification to whatever page you are on your computer, even a different website. Your notifications are also called Alerts, and are normally seen at the top right of the forum page next to your User Name, the small Bell icon that you click on to see if you received a Like, etc. So, if you get a Like, etc., no matter where you're browsing online, you should see a small pop up box alerting you of a notification that you received here.

You can enable it and if you don't like it you can disable it, that's what I've done, seeing my notifications/alerts on this site only via the Bell icon is good enough for my liking.

If you click on your User Name at the top right of the webpage, click on Preferences, and you can choose the things you would like to be alerted about, there's also the choice there to enable/disable Push Notifications. Always click Save changes at the bottom when you're done.
 

AprilSun

Senior Member
Location
USA
Original Poster
A long time ago I clicked Enable just to check it out, after around a day I knew I didn't need something like that, so I went into my Preferences, like Aunt Marg said and disabled it. It has been disabled since, I'd have to click on that big blue button in my Preferences to enable it again. You always need to click Save when you make any changes in your preferences. Here's a quote from an old thread that I replied to.
I went through the whole process again and made sure I clicked on Save and it worked "until" I logged off, closed my browser and deleted my temp files. Then I logged back on and there it popped up again. The blocking I mentioned above is still working. I just started using this browser regularly because the one I had been using had been updated and was causing more problems than it was worth. I'm guessing I had to use the block extension on it too and that would be why I didn't have it popping up using that browser. But, it been too long to remember so that is just a guess. But it's not pestering me to death now and that's the main thing! Thank you everyone for your help.
 

SeaBreeze

Endlessly Groovin'
Location
USA
I went through the whole process again and made sure I clicked on Save and it worked "until" I logged off, closed my browser and deleted my temp files. Then I logged back on and there it popped up again. The blocking I mentioned above is still working. I just started using this browser regularly because the one I had been using had been updated and was causing more problems than it was worth. I'm guessing I had to use the block extension on it too and that would be why I didn't have it popping up using that browser. But, it been too long to remember so that is just a guess. But it's not pestering me to death now and that's the main thing! Thank you everyone for your help.
@AprilSun , it may have something to do with your deleting your temp files, I don't know. I use Firefox and haven't had a problem with it, but I rarely do a full clean of cookies and cache on my computer. Glad your able to deal with it anyway, little things like that can drive you nuts. :)
 

AprilSun

Senior Member
Location
USA
Original Poster
I just did a clean up. No push notification. Maybe it's just a google thing.
Your post made me curious. I have several browsers with the blocking extension installed on my computer. I disabled the blocking extension on another browser, closed the browser, cleaned the temp files, and loaded a different browser, and each time, the push notification pop up appeared again when I logged in. That reminded me that the blocking extension is what saved my sanity before. I had to block this pop up each time on each browser to get rid of it. But, at least the blocking extension works!
 
Your post made me curious. I have several browsers with the blocking extension installed on my computer. I disabled the blocking extension on another browser, closed the browser, cleaned the temp files, and loaded a different browser, and each time, the push notification pop up appeared again when I logged in. That reminded me that the blocking extension is what saved my sanity before. I had to block this pop up each time on each browser to get rid of it. But, at least the blocking extension works!
Wonder why? I don't have any trouble with it. Well as long as you got to the bottom of it. :D
 

Matrix

Admin
You can block it at the browser level, just click the lock icon in the address bar and change "Notifications" to "Block".

When you clean up your temporary files, make sure you don't clean up website settings. Unless you run out of hard disk space, I don't see the benefits of cleaning up temporary files so frequently, they can speed up your browsing.


 

AprilSun

Senior Member
Location
USA
Original Poster
You can block it at the browser level, just click the lock icon in the address bar and change "Notifications" to "Block".

When you clean up your temporary files, make sure you don't clean up website settings. Unless you run out of hard disk space, I don't see the benefits of cleaning up temporary files so frequently, they can speed up your browsing.


Thank you Matrix for this information but since I have it working now, I think I will leave it as is. My luck, if I change anything, then I'll mess something else up so I'll use the old saying, "If it ain't broke, don't fix it" for now. Thanks again!
 


Top