Pen Pals, did you have any, or still have some?

Who had them? Do youstill have some? Do you think letter writing is a lost art?

I saw blog I think it was where a woman was trying to resurrect letter writing and offered up a kind of pen pal “hub”. I was an avid letter writer for about 15 years of my life. It was the way I got to learn about other countries way before the wonder of the internet. I had up to 50 pen pals from all over the world. Some of my highlights and lowlights so to speak were very interesting. I had a pen pal form Russia, back when it was the USSR and the letters would come with many parts blackened out with heavy black marker.

I had many small mail-able gifts and trinkets sent to me from all around the globe. It was
popular practice to exchange what were called Friendship Books(interestingly we referred to them as FB’s).These were cute little booklets (half the size of a recipe card or smaller) of a dozen or so pages stapled together. Some would just be plain paper, others had stickers adorning them or pretty art work or a poem or saying. A person would start up on and put their name and address in it, and even include a few interests, then send it to a friend who would do same and pass it on, and so on and so on.If you were lucky to get a fuller one, you had many “pen pals” to choose from.You were responsible to return to the original sender their full FB. Some FB’s would take a few months to return, some a few years.

I had a lovely 10 year pal who always travelled and sent me pictures and trinkets.
Then one day her husband sent me a letter telling me her illness had taken her life. This started the end of my pen pal world. I could not bear the loss of more friendsthis way. Slowly I phased out an amazingpast time. I do think about trying again but am still on the fence.

Hi back at ya Ina
Yes perhaps so to some degree. There was always a kind of thrill getting a letter in the mail. Here we just plug in, turn on and click and chat.