Sailing into the Sunset

seascene

I have never really considered the word retirement ....seems an excuse word...just moved onto a different activity. My life is afloat now on a sailboat for past dozen years. Walden is my core philosophy. The ocean provides in a day of hard fishing enough salmon jars for a year....same thing with black tail dear. This lifestyle is not for everyone obviously but the point is forget the word retirement... seems a quitting kind of work ... what is that expression? Carpe Diem ... expand it. My partner has a farm in the wilds of Port Alberni and we visit each others surf n' turf from time to time. This past year (regret not doing this sooner) I have put some videos together for worried friends and family on YT proving that live 😍 until you don't. I sincerely understand physicality is a very real stopper for many but until then.....

Good attitude, seascene. I'm still doing what I've been doing for 40 years, writing my novels. I took up painting pictures 20 years ago, and I'm still doing that too. Right now, I'm taking a little time away from the writing while my current novel is being edited and thinking about what I want to write next. Given the world situation on so many levels I need to change my focus. Old medic good plan on self-sufficiency. So many things are changing now. We need to be able to take care of ourselves as best we can.

Reading the OP title to this thread, I imagined something different, but now that I have come here, I would like everyone to close their eyes and imagine that it’s the middle of August, the time is 8:15 p.m., the sun is setting and you are on a big plane, rolling down the runway for the takeoff from Honolulu. As you are being lifted high into the air, you think back to just a few days ago when you were sitting on the beach at the same time of the day, your feet in the water while sipping on a Mai Tai.