Staffie At the Dog Park Today

SeaBreeze

Endlessly Groovin'
I've been visiting the 'dog park' for over 30 years now, and have come to know that although the majority of dogs there are socialized and friendly, there are a few that can bite or attack...luckily those incidents are rare. I also know that regardless of the breed, the behavior and personality can't be painted with a broad brush, there are exceptions in every breed or size of dog.

Well, today there weren't many people around, and this woman was approaching us with a Staffordshire Bull Terrier aka Pitbull. The dog reached us first, and I greeted him as usual with a hello buddy type greeting. He first went nose to nose with my dog who is super friendly but not assertive, the Staffie's tail was in full wag and the meeting was nice and mellow.

I then bent over and called him to me for a pet, and the woman said something to him and apologized to me that he wasn't supposed to approach me unless she gave him permission. I playfully told her, 'oh, you are sooo controlling'.....meanwhile I was petting her dog and all was well.

She explained to me that not everyone was welcoming to him like I was, and many people didn't want him near them or their dogs. I told here that I've met many dogs there and it's not the breed I judge, it's the individual dog. We both agreed that Staffie's that were aggressive became that way because of their owners. I've seen some aggressive ones over the years, and that is so true, they were taught to be that way, 'guard' dogs, never socialized with people, children or other pets. I never saw one like that at the park.