Ukulele anyone?

HarryHawk

Rev. Harry
I've played guitar for quite a while and have always enjoyed it. About a year ago Is started to play a ukulele. I've come to realize what a great instrument the ukulele is.

It is a relatively inexpensive instrument that is easy to learn. It is fun to play alone or with others, it just seems to make happy music. It's nice because it is portable and easy to take along.

One of the primary reasons I started playing a ukulele is that I always hoped my wife would start playing an instrument so I'd have someone else with whom to play music. My wife wasn't interested in playing guitar, I thought ukulele may be more appealing to her. I'm happy to say I was right. She quickly learned to play some songs and enjoyed being able to make music.

My wife and I have found that playing ukulele can be a very social. There are a number of groups of people who enjoy playing together both in person (less frequently during covid) and virtually. It is a great way to meet folks.

I've also been reading about the health benefits of playing an instrument and just creating music in general. Playing music activates several areas of the brain, it is thought to be a good mental exercise.

Anyone else out there strumming away?

I bought a ukulele about a year ago, hoping to learn to play. My grandfather played and I always enjoyed the sound. Anyway, I tried, for a while, to learn from online videos and apps but without success. So my uke has been sitting most of the time since. I tried finding someone local to teach me but I had no luck until recently. I found that through my local parks and rec center that I will be able to begin lessons in the fall. Oh boy, I can hardly wait! And the ukulele orchestra, I only recently discovered them as well but they are awesome! How nice it was to find these posts! 😁