Am I at a crossroad?

sjungdahl

When I was in my 30's I enjoyed woodworking. I was working with my father at his construction company and it came natural. At 41 I changed careers, got into IT. My father passed away 2 months after I got my first job in IT. It was quite the change for me. I was (still am) a single parent with two children. That's basically why I worked for my father. It gave me the time to be a parent. When he passed away my daughter was 18 my son 15 so they weren't taking up my time as much.
I worked in IT for 20+ years. Over those years I suffered a few medical setbacks. 2008 septic shock from misdiagnosed pneumonia, 2008 triple bypass. 2009 stints, pacemaker/ICD and was put on disability. After 6 months I went back to work. My last day as an IT guy was 12/31/2016. I've been trying to find out what I should do since then.
I have grandkids which helps, started playing piano but lost interest.
Few months ago I joined something called a makers place. It's basically a large building with lots of equipment. Some members run small companies out of there but also retiree's like myself. It all started when I was looking to by some bedroom furniture for me grandkids. It's all made out of manufactured materials, solid wood furniture is hard to find and prohibitively expensive. So I though I can do this, I'll build it!
I've invested around $1000 so far and starting to have doubts I can do it. I continue to make silly mistakes.
Winded post just to ask for opinions -
When do you throw in the towel?

Maybe consider a less ambitious project or so. For example I used to know people who did huge crafts projects like bed quilts & Afghans. I learned quickly that wasn’t me and happily made very nice smaller things. I don’t do it any more due to hand arthritis,but my lesson was sometimes things need to be scaled down.
If you still like woodworking, maybe you could find an opportunity to teach others.