The absolute absurdity of legalese documents that come with credit cards and insurance policies.

treeguy64

Hari Om, y'all!
Does ANYONE ever take the two to four hours, it takes, to slog through those fine print documents, and understand them perfectly? It's maddening to know that all of the companies using them know, full well, that, in general, hardly anyone will go through that stuff, and understand everything, even if they do read it all.

I write contracts for a living, in part, and I can understand the above-referenced documents, but anyone other than a lawyer, paralegal, or contract writer is going to be hard-pressed to make a go of it, with full understanding. It's obfuscation, at its finest/worst!

The thing is, once you get full understanding of said documents, you realize how EVERYTHING is in the company's favor. If anything happens, you need to hope, above hope, that you're going to be on the right side of a conflict with the company, and, odds are, you will NOT be!

If you have a strong stomach, you can check out the South Park episode about failing to read those documents. It's disgusting as all get out, but then, what these companies get away with is much worse!

If I ruled the world (great song), I would permanently ban all such legalese garbage, as the above. I write my own leases, bills of sale, contracts for service, etc., and I put them, all, in plain English, very easy to understand. If only those companies did the same!

Yes. These contracts are getting more and more deceptive as people become more and more trusting and gullible. This is a nightmare. These contracts are where they throw in that the product is free for 30 days but if you don’t state that you don’t want it by a certain date you get charged x amount each month which will be taken from your account or credit card each month.
Its pathetic how many people are getting ripped off.