VA Medical Versus Medicare

ClassicRockr

I've been using my VA Medical benefits off and on since 1995, when employers started having employees pay for part of the cost for medical insurance. Since I'm not "Serviced-Connected" medical, I have had to pay co-pays for medical and Rx. When I turned 65, this past June, I got Medicare and it's costing us $104 per month. That cost is taken out of my SS Early Retirement monthly. I wanted the Medicare b/c I thought Medicare would be better for me than the VA. There is no VA Hospital near me.

Anyway, I read online, in very bold letters as well, that Medicare and the VA work completely separately. A Medicare doctor can not prescribe meds from the VA Pharmacy or actually do anything dealing with the VA. And, it's up to the VA doctor a person is seeing, if the doctor will prescribe meds from outside the VA Pharmacy. I had one doctor that did, but that doctor was changed on me and my new doctor won't.

So, since I'm now paying $104 a month for Medicare, $135 a month for a Supplement to Medicare and $15 a month for a Rx Plan, I see no reason for me to continue using the VA. Thing is, I found out that there are people who continue to use the VA or their Retirement/Pension Medical Insurance, but still pay the $104 (or more) a month for Medicare. My brother only uses the VA and still pays the $104 a month for Medicare. His wife sure doesn't like that.

What I wonder is.......how many people have a Retirement/Pension Medical Plan and/or VA Medical and use one of them, but still pay for Medicare each month?

I have Medicare and a supplement for all my health needs and the VA only for my service connected hearing disability wherein they provide Audiology services, hearing aids, batteries.