What have you recently discovered about cooking?

CinnamonSugar

A Quiet American
I’ve been cooking for 50+ yrs and I just discovered how great parchment paper is! (I always thought it was just over-priced waxed paper *blush*)

what discoveries have you made recently in the kitchen—new ingredient, cooking technique, equipment—?

I've been watching a series of short videos posted by Jacques Pepin on FB.

It has made me realize that cooking for one or two people every now and then does not have to be an expensive chore.

https://jp.foundation/video-series/jacques-at-home-2020

Another simple thing that I've learned is to drain fried foods on a wire rack to keep them crisp instead of on paper towels.

I'm still learning to use my microwave oven and toaster oven to full advantage.

Finally, I've learned that I can eat pretty well by doing more planning than cooking. Today there are so many wonderful convenience/prepared foods available to us that I don't worry much about losing my ability to cook or being safe in the kitchen.

iu

Mix in baking soda for cloud-like scrambled eggs

mix-in-baking-soda-for-cloud-like-scrambled-eggs-1593531190.jpg

"A staple in cookie, cake, and muffin recipes, baking soda is a must-have for most baked goods. It's probably even already made an appearance at your breakfast table, as it's in most pancake mixes. What's more, it actually can give your eggs a lift, too. In fact, The Daily Meal suggests it's an important ingredient for creating the lightest and fluffiest scrambled eggs".

"Just as it helps prevent those sweet treats from becoming dense and heavy, baking soda transforms eggs due to its unique chemical makeup. Basically, it works by releasing carbon dioxide bubbles when it interacts with liquid and heat, creating a double-whammy of airiness. The key is not overdoing it: It's recommended you use just 1/8 of a teaspoon for every two large eggs. Just sprinkle it in as you're whisking and prepare to be amazed".