Worried and scared

Tara

I am a 75 yr old woman retired and I will be moving to senior community soon for independent living. My brother and I shared a home and then he died. He did leave me some money from his 401k. Not enough to last to pay all the bills here.

I am youthful .not in bad health. But I have no family but my ex sister in law and she has her own family. She does help a lot though.

I have a friend who has power of attorney only because she helped me get the bank accounts together. I have no trouble making decisions.

She tells me we should see a lawyer to protect my money. But the lawyer wants a letter of competency from a doctor first.
My worry is that I am not good with the word memory recall test. What happens if I fail that word list recall? I know they look for early onset Alzheimer's? My memory is pretty good but I guess it is not perfect. I am so worried.

Oh and welcome to the forum. This is a great place to talk and share info, pictures and videos with very informed, honest, and loving folk.

flag-ribbon-welcome-old-school-flag-banner-vector-id1223088904

Welcome, Tara! It seems like you have a good head on your shoulders. The fact that you're asking these questions is a sign that your memory is working. I wouldn't go with the lawyer at all if it were me (unless I wanted to write a Will). There really is no need. As long as the accounts are in your name, you should be fine. That's my two bits. Good luck! :)
Seeing a lawyer will make sure her money is not spent foolishly by the retirement home.

My Mom didn't do that & they used up all her money in about 6 months. Then she went into the Medicaid area.

So definitely see a lawyer make sure your money is safe.

I would be very concerned about giving anyone a power of attorney over my finances.

I would encourage you to seek professional advice from an independent source.